We're open for new collaborations.
News to be updated weekly.

As hard to believe as it is for me, this Saturday my lovely wife and I have been married for 17 years. August 7, 1993 was the magic day those many years ago. Though it’s been an adventure and like every good adventure film, there’s been challenges and annoyances, it’s been wonderful to meet it…

Written by

×

,

JUST LIFE >> 17 Years of Marriage This Weekend ::

As hard to believe as it is for me, this Saturday my lovely wife and I have been married for 17 years. August 7, 1993 was the magic day those many years ago. Though it’s been an adventure and like every good adventure film, there’s been challenges and annoyances, it’s been wonderful to meet it all with such an amazing person by my side.

Robert Louis Stevenson said it best ::

“Teacher, tender comrade, wife, A fellow-farer true through life.”

I think that captures it beautifully.

This is how we ended up spending our evening ::

On our way out of our driveway heading to dinner, we saw a rather chunky, cute and lost beagle / basset wandering down the middle of our street. We corralled him into the yard and gave “Petey” some water and treats. Stephanie drove around the neighborhood looking for owners on the lookout. Logan spent time with both our “guest” and Otis, who was a bit flummoxed at the arrival of another dog. I made posters. Long story short, we found Petey’s owner and our big romantic meal ended up being grilled cheese sandwiches at 10PM.

To be honest, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I think it really is the perfect metaphor for our marriage itself — maybe not always glamorous, but focused on the simple things, the things that are truly important.

I am reminded of one of the most hauntingly romantic songs ever written: the Beach Boys’ pitch-perfect God Only Knows. The sardonic sarcasm of these lines brings their true meaning home.

“If you should ever leave me
Though life would still go on, believe me
The world could show nothing to me
So what good would livin’ do me
God only knows what I’d be without you

God only knows what I’d be without you”

I can say nothing more poetic than that. The entire song is just a masterpiece.

Here’s to 18 and a lifetime more.

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

3 responses to “JUST LIFE >> 17 Years of Marriage This Weekend ::”

  1. Ang Avatar

    Congratulations, David & Steph! Just so you know, your marriage has inspired many of us…from where we stand we see the perfect blend of friendship, romance and endurance. Your post made my day for two reasons: the marriage thing (awesome) and the Petey part. Lately, I’m seeing far too many “lost dog” signs and it does my heart good to see a “found dog” story 🙂

    1. davidedwardjohnson Avatar

      You are FAR too kind! THANKS!

  2. Dickie Avatar
    Dickie

    An Aminal Caper!! Never fails to bring out family fun.

    Congratulations you two. I miss you.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.